Petra Cameron

Favourite Thing: Try a new experiment



Drogheda Grammar School (Ireland) until 1996; University of Edinburgh 97-2001; University of Bath (PhD) 2001-2005


MChem; PhD

Work History:

Max Plank Institute for Polymer Research (Germany); University of Bath

Current Job:

Senior Lecturer


The University of Bath

About Me

I am a senior lecturer in physical chemistry and energy at the University of Bath

I live in Bath with my partner and two children (ages 2 and 4!).We have two house rabbits, Flump and Smudge. I love cycling – we have a cargo bike which means we don’t own a car.

My Work

My research is in solar cells

I run a research group that investigates new materials for solar cells, we also make and test solar cells! I also have interests in microbial and algal fuel cells.

My Typical Day


My days at work are always very busy. In a typical day I will get up and bring my children to school/nursery. I then get to my office at about 9am and spend about 45 minutes answering e-mails and doing admin jobs.  I often then have meetings with my postgraduate students about their research. On the days when I am working on research papers or grant proposals I will sometimes spend anything between 2 and 5 hours writing or doing data analysis. I teach first, second and final year units which involve running lectures, workshops and laboratory classes throughout the year. In Bath teaching can be scheduled at any time between 08:15 and 19:05. Yesterday I had the final lecture for my first year course – the lecture was from 17:15-18:05! I also hold tutorials most weeks. On top of research and teaching we have quite a lot of administrative duties – I am chair of the chemistry staff student liaison committee for example. I am also unit co-ordinator for two undergraduate units. Although it is always busy I am very lucky as I absolutely love my job – I especially like working with the postgraduate students to develop new research areas.

My Interview

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

curious, optimistic, shy

Who is your favourite singer or band?

The Divine Comedy

What's your favourite food?

What is the most fun thing you've done?

Lived in Germany as a post doc

What did you want to be after you left school?

a scientist!

Were you ever in trouble at school?

I was much too scared of my teachers!

What was your favourite subject at school?

Chemistry, history and english

My favourite CHRISTMAS LECTURE memory is:

too many to pick one out

Tell us a joke.

Other stuff

Work photos: